Tauranga lawyer, Nick Earl, has taken over the reins as the trust’s chairman. Nick, who is a director at Lyon O’Neale Arnold lawyers, says it is an honour and privilege to become chairman of such an “incredible local charity”.

Nick Earl

“The Trust has a proud history of advancing education for young people in the Bay of Plenty since 1985. Just one of its many achievements is the issuing of over $1.5 million in scholarships to Eastern and Western Bay of Plenty teenagers to support them in their tertiary studies in the fields of science, technology and emerging industries.”

Nick takes over the chairman role from Roger Loveridge, who will remain on the board as a trustee. Past trustee and Emeritus Trustee recipient, Peter Wood, says Roger’s eight years as chairman were testimony to the good job he did and the high regard present and past trustees hold him in.

“He is one of the trust’s longest serving chairs and has had a stabilising influence on the trust and its growth.” Nick describes Roger as a role model and an exceptional chairman.

“Roger leaves big shoes to fill, however I am looking forward to embracing the challenge and continuing to work with my fellow Trustees to further advance education in the Bay of Plenty.”

John Burn and Roger Loveridge

John Burn and Roger Loveridge

Retiring trustee, John Burn, was awarded the Emeritus Trustee honour at the trust’s annual meeting, in recognition of his many decades of exemplary service. John joins Brian Scantlebury, Michael Batchelor, and Peter Wood as Emeritus Trustee recipients.

Peter Wood says the most recent Emeritus Trustee recipient has provided considered and excellent counsel on decisions over the years. John, who was Owens Services BOP Limited managing director, initially represented Bob Owens on the trust from its 1985 conception. Ten years later, he went on to become a trustee, which was a good fit for his passion for education, general business, financial matters, and dedication to serving the community. He was an inaugural and long-serving member of the trust’s investment committee, including a two-year stint as committee chairman.

The Bay of Plenty Education Trust has awarded scholarships to 327 students since its inception. The most recent recipients are: Oscar Lee, Aquinas College; Olivia Steed, Bethlehem College; Kieva Dunlop, Katikati College; Jordon York and Jonathan Tomlinson, Mt Maunganui College; Briar Petrie and Maeve Sutcliffe, Otumoetai College; Elliott Cope, Papamoa College; Aidan Everitt and Alexander(Alex) Jenkin, Tauranga Boys’ College; and Holly Ryan and Kalei Evans, Tauranga Girls’ College; Dylan Shepherd of Te Puke High School; Samantha Burr, Edgecumbe College; Ankita Painuly, Tarawera High School; Pippi Jones and Chloe Brown, Trident High School; Timothy Blakeway, Whakatane High School; and Corban Taylor of Opotiki High School.

The trust also runs a Future Leaders Programme specifically created to help secondary school students develop their leadership skills. (It is targeted at keen and determined students who have not gained such an opportunity). The trust is also a supporter of the Instep Programme run by Priority One, and its Eastern Bay of Plenty equivalent, the ToiEDA. Both focus on collaboration and bridging the gap between secondary schools and businesses.

Current Trustees of the Bay of Plenty Education Trust are: Nick Earl, Roger Loveridge, Tom Beswick, Terri Eggleton, Richard Dey, John Revington and Peter Tootell.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join Our Facebook Group

Join Here

07 927 1200
60 Durham Street, Tauranga

© Copyright 2022 Bay of Plenty Education Trust

A concrete5 website by JeRo